Addressing the Issues of 
Career Professionals in 
the 21st Century!

Alva C. Cooper Awards


DEADLINE: TBA in the fall of 2019

MNYCCPOA will be accepting submissions for the Alva C. Cooper Awards for Best Practices in Career Development in the fall of 2019. The purpose of these awards is to recognize the outstanding work of the members of MNYCCPOA, and to foster our mission of promoting professional growth and exchanging ideas, information and creative solutions concerning career development issues.

Description of Awards:
There are three awards for best practices.

Description of Awards (NEW AWARD TYPES):

  • New Programs 0-3yrs: $ 1,000
  • Existing Programs 4+ years: $ 1,000
  • Creativity & Innovation: $ 1,000

All awards will be made to the member's school, to be used by the Career Services Office. In the event that the work was not related to work conducted at a school i.e. a thesis, dissertation or graduate school project then the prize will be awarded directly to the winner.

*Please note: If you are not a current member of MNYCCPOA and would like to submit an application for consideration, you may have a current  MNYCCPOA member sponsor your application. If your submission wins, your membership fee will be deducted from the award amount.

Types of Submissions:

  • New programs or programs with a new twist
  • Successful marketing campaigns for programs or services
  • Innovative materials or handouts
  •  Professional presentations made by members at conferences
  • New ways of delivering services
  • New techniques or methods of counseling
  •  Research including thesis, dissertation and graduate level research projects                                    

Submission Evaluation Criteria:

  • Professional development of the applicant(s)
  • Impact on targeted population
  • Effectiveness/objectives met and outcomes clearly stated
  • Creativity and innovation

How to Apply:

Stay tuned! Information coming in the fall of 2019. 


Future deadline will be available here in the fall of 2019. 


Awards will be presented at the Spring 2020 meeting on May 1st.

For more information contact the Alva C. Cooper Committee at: 

Committee Chair:

Angela Monahan 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software